The Social (Food) Network.

I don’t really know what I thought was going to happen when I decided to take up food blogging.
It all just started out as a photo album on Facebook that I decided to call ‘Kate Moss doesn’t know shit’, where I posted photos of things that I was cooking, just for fun.
After some encouraging words, I turned to blogging. Somehow after that, I happened to meet Matt from Abstract¬†Gourmet¬†and Marcelita’s Empanadas.¬†He wanted me to tweet him a photo I took, and when I explained I didn’t use Twitter, I was promptly informed that I should. Starting immediately.

So I did.

From there, I was graciously introduced to a food community beyond anything I could have imagined. In a small pond like Perth, you’d be forgiven for thinking that there’s no need for us all.¬†You’d be wrong.
We share, of course, a healthy appetite and a love of food. But we all do it differently, and it all seems to work.
More importantly, I’ve never met a boring foodie. We are hilarious. Fact.

So. Today, I bring you the March Sweet Adventures Blog Hop, courtesy of the amazing Heather of The Capers of the Kitchen Crusader.

 

Heather told me all about her plans for baklava over breakfast at Toast in East Perth (recommend, by the way) last weekend, and I had to get involved. The theme was desserts in layers! We know how much I love layers and desserts!

When trying to¬†piece¬†together what I wanted to make, I was preparing for a picnic with Where the Wind Blows Her and Carolanne’s Kitchen¬†and kind of wanted to impress them. I also owed a friend treats, and said friend is a fiend for all things Turkish Delight (bribing him with such things is how I convinced him to be friends with me in the first place). It was then I knew. And the Googling began.

Smooth, rose flavoured cheesecake, smothered in a rich chocolate mousse. ¬†That’s what I needed here.

Turkish Delight Cheesecake

From pikeletandpie

crust:
180 g marie biscuits, crushed to crumbs
115g butter, melted
24 g sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
50g walnuts, finely chopped
1/2 tsp cardamom

cheesecake:
680g cream cheese,  room temperature
210 g sugar
3 large eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp. lime juice
2 tbsp. rose-water

Chocolate mousse –¬†Adapted from Colpanna
300g dark chocolate
1C thickened cream
2 large egg whites
1T granulated sugar

1. Preheat an oven to 180C.
Mix all the ingredients for your crust in a bowl. Press into the base of a lined and greased cake tin. Refrigerate until ready.

2. Cream the sugar and cream cheese with a mixer until smooth. Add eggs one at a time, making sure they are completely combined. Add rose water, lime juice and cream. Mix until smooth and completely combined.

Pour the cream cheese mixture over the crust, and smooth with a spatula.

3.Prepare a water bath for the cheesecake by tightly wrapping the base in foil, placing the cheesecake in a roasting dish, then filling the roasting dish with an inch of water.

Bake for 45 – 55 minutes. It should still jiggle. Turn off the oven, and allow the cheesecake to sit for an hour to finish ‘cooking’.

4. While it does this, prepare the mousse.
Melt chocolate in a bowl over simmering water until smooth. Set aside to cool slightly (this is vital. I was impatient and tried to skip the cooling part. I made this 3 times.)

Using a cold mixing bowl, whip the thickened cream for about a minute, until stiff.
Whisk the eggs until soft peaks form. Then add the sugar, and mix for a further 2 minutes.

Carefully fold 1/4 of the egg whites into the chocolate. Then combine the chocolate mix into the rest of the eggs. Carefully combine the cream and chocolate mixture. Keep the mousse in the fridge until you are ready to use it.

5. After an hour, carefully remove the cake from the water bath, and then chill in the fridge.
Once it is completely cold, carefully spread with  mousse.
Keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

P.S. You should check out the incredible Food Adventures of the Blue Apocalypse‘s contribution to the blog hop. I’m making this, stay tuned.

P.P.S. My picnic was lovely, thank you for asking.

10 thoughts on “The Social (Food) Network.

  1. I can attest to the domination of this cheesecake over all other cheesecake. I was at that epic picnic, where we drank red wine out of green tea cups, ate stupidly good brie and died n went to heaven with cheesecake. So happy.

Leave a Reply

