I’m eating my feelings; they taste delicious.

You know those days where you kind of get knocked for six?
Well, it’s been one of those weeks.
A break-up, missing some friends, and a new role at work (which is great, it’s just new, and you know how that is). All this crazy happening around me takes up a lot of energy. Which makes me hungry.
You know in movies where you see those delicate girls who are to upset to eat? I don’t have that problem. As I was inhaling ice cream while Skyping with a friend, he looked at me incredulously and asked “You’re not going to eat the whole tub, are you?”. Well, I’m not going to, now that you’ve said it like that.
Don’t judge me. I do what I want.

Eating habits aside, I’ve been in a new role at work this week. And believe it or not, when first introduced to a new group of people, I’m a little shy (stop laughing. No, seriously). My fail-safe in life has always been to bribe people into liking me with food. It’s easy, people like food, I bring food, people like me for bringing food, equals people like me.  My logic is sound, don’t ruin this for me.
So combining my desire to eat my feelings with a baking challenge, I was struck with inspiration.

Chocolate Obsession.

I’m not talking about my chocolate obsession. That’s a whole other post.
I’m talking about Chocolate Obsession ice cream. You know the one, chocolate ice cream, with cherry brandy sauce, with chocolate bits running through it? It’s like my kryptonite.
Ice cream isn’t terribly practical in the workplace (I’ve tried), but brownies are. So I decided brownies, chocolate chips, with a raspberry coulis swirled through might just do the trick.

I’m always searching for The Best Brownie Recipe. I personally think I’ve found it. That one will stay with me until I die. Or I find a better one. This one, however, is pretty damn good. Easy, too.

Chocolate Brownies
Adapted from Donna Hay

200g dark chocolate, chopped
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips, roughly chopped
250g butter, chopped
1¾ cups (310g) brown sugar
4 eggs
⅓ cup (35g) cocoa powder, sifted
1¼ cups (185g) plain (all-purpose) flour, sifted
¼ teaspoon baking powder

Raspberry Coulis
Adapted from myrecipes.com

2 cups fresh or frozen raspberries
1/2 cup sugar Preheat oven to 160°C (325ºF).

Place the 200g chocolate (not the chips) and butter in a saucepan over low heat and stir until smooth. Allow to cool slightly.

To make the coulis; in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, bring raspberries and 1/2 cup sugar to a boil.

Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until mixture starts to thicken, about 15 minutes.

Press mixture through a fine-mesh strainer, using a spatula to extract as much liquid as possible. Discard seeds and skins. Place the sugar, eggs, cocoa, flour and baking powder in a bowl. Add the chocolate mixture and mix until combined.

Mix though the chopped chocolate chips until they are evenly distributed.

Line a 20cm-square slice tin with non-stick baking paper.
Pour in half the brownie mix. Spoon half the coulis over the brownie mix, and swirl through with a knife. Pour the rest of the brownie into the pan. Repeat with remaining coulis.
Bake for 50 minutes or until an inserted skewer withdraws clean.
Allow to cool slightly in the tin before slicing. Serve warm or cold.  

Hey, they don’t call it winning brownie points for nuthin’.
P.S. If you have nothing to do on Saturday, you should check out the Beaufort St Festival. It’s going to be amazeballs.

4 thoughts on “I’m eating my feelings; they taste delicious.

  1. Hayley says:

    Hey Dude
    Rhiannon just informed me of the awesome blog venture you have decided to partake in… Good job..
    PS the reason for the comment… I think one of my besties would seriously kill me should I not at least put in a request for you to do what you do best and make me some brownies… : )

Leave a Reply

