Giving Thanks, with Cookie

According to the interwebs, it’s Thanksgiving in the US of A at present.
So I’m band-wagoning, and giving thanks. That’s how this thing works, right?

It has to be said, I’m extraordinarily lucky.
I’ve been doing this whole food blog thing for a month now. That’s a month of:

  • being up all hours pouring over books or finishing posts
  •  ripping recipes from magazines
  •  slapping friends who make the mistake of thinking they can eat what they’ve ordered before I’ve had the chance to take pictures of it (who do they think they are?!)
  •  dragging people to places they didn’t want to go (sorry Blair) just because it’s somewhere I read about, and that’s my prerogative
  • bizarre food cravings or recipe  obsessions
  • my poor housemates coming home to a hurricane-ravaged kitchen, with a mad-scientist Bri demanding to know why you just won’t set/bake/thicken/reduce/do my bidding?

All of my friends just smile indulgently and let me have my moment of crazy. I guess they don’t mind so much, so long as I keep up my end of the bargain, and just keep the treats a’comin.
Said friends have also been incredibly supportive, saying all kinds of lovely things, proof reading posts at stupid hours.
For this, I am beyond appreciative.

So, I’m holding up my end of the bargain.
The best damn cookies.
I took them to my day job (I enjoy calling it my day job. It implies I have a night job. Like Batman. I could totally be Batman.), where they were devoured. Someone even declared them ‘ohmygodthesearethebestcookiesI’veeverhad’. At least, that’s what I think she said. She had a mouthful.

The personal pleasure I get from sharing the cookie love with others, is in the recipe prep. Crushed up Oreos.
For this, the easiest way it to put them in a ziploc bag, squeeze out all the air, and then go to town on them with a rolling-pin. I maintain it’s cheaper than therapy, and infinitely more effective. It must be said, that the air-squishing part is VERY important. Otherwise, you have what happened to me. The bag explodes, turning your kitchen into a chocolaty snow dome.
It’s also very important that you keep your fingers out of the way. Otherwise, you have what happened to me. All that beautiful therapy becomes quickly undone if you bash your fingers.

Just sayin’.

Oreo Cheesecake Cookies
Recipe from thisistolove

Yield: About 1 dozen cookies
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
85 grams cream cheese, at room temperature
1 cup caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup plain flour
½ cup mini chocolate chips
1 cup Oreo cookie crumbs1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with baking paper  and set aside.2. In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and cream cheese on medium speed until smooth and well-combined.
3. Add the sugar and vanilla extract and mix until the ingredients are well-combined. Add the flour and mix on low until the flour is incorporated. Stir in the mini chocolate chips with a rubber spatula.
4. Place the Oreo cookie crumbs in a small bowl. Scoop the cookies into about 1½ to 2″ balls (the dough will be soft, don’t worry if it doesn’t scoop into a well-formed ball, the crumbs will help hold it together)and then roll in the cookie crumbs. Place the cookie balls on the baking sheet, do not squish flat. Leave plenty of space between them, they will spread. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the edges are golden and the tops are slightly puffed.
5. Cool on the pan for 2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Now, if only I could get out of clean-up duty… This is getting ridiculous.

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks, with Cookie

Leave a Reply

