I’m a reformed people pleaser. If that’s ok with you.

My name is Bri, and I don’t know how to say no to people.

If you’re my friends, this is a great gig.
Sure, I’ll pick you and your mates up at 4am and spend 2 hours driving them all home.
Sure, I’ll set all the tables at your wedding.
Sure, I’ll  work all weekend.
If you’re me, well, you don’t get a lot of sleep. But that’s ok, because I’m making people happy.

So, when the request for me to make someone something comes out, I’m hardly going to turn down the challenge, am I?
Luckily, in this instance, the request came from my gorgeous, talented friend Sam Perry.
In which case, you trying say no.
“Bri, I never get any of the stuff you make, make something for me.”
Uhhhh… Ok.

The good thing about the times when people ask me to make things off the cuff, is they generally aren’t too picky about what I present them with. A culinary free for all. Winning.

Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars

Adapted from Zoom Yummy

Base

1 1/2 cups crushed lattice biscuit crumbs
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Filling
500g cream cheese, softened
1/2 cups caster sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs

Apple filling
2 large apples
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon caster sugar
1 tablespoon brown sugar

Crumble
1/2 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup plain flour

Topping
3/4 cup caramel sauce

1. Preheat the oven to 175 °C.

2. Mix the melted butter and Lattice cracker crumbs until thoroughly combined. Press the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. Bake in preheated oven for 6 minutes. Remove pan to a cooling rack.

3. In the meantime, in a larger bowl, beat the cream cheese with 1/2 cup sugar until smooth (about 1 minute). Add the eggs, 1 at a time (beat about 20 seconds after each addition). Next add the vanilla and mix until combined.
Make sure not to over-beat the cheesecake batter as this will lead to excess air being incorporated in and may cause cracking later on.
Pour the cream cheese batter over the warm crust.

4. Peel the apples and chop them into small bits. Mix the apple bits with the cinnamon and sugars. Spread the apple evenly over the cream cheese mixture.

5. In a smaller bowl, combine the flour, oats, and brown sugar for a crumb topping. Cube the butter and using a fork, create a crumbly mixture. Crumble over the cream cheese mixture.

6. Bake 30 minutes, or until the filling has set. Reduce the temperature to 150 °C for the last 5 minutes.

7. Cut into bars and drizzle with the caramel topping.

I used these to bribe several of my friends, and they were declared “The best thing you’ve ever made”.

I very rarely eat my own cooking, but I ate 4 on Sunday afternoon while watching Letters to Juliet.
Judge away, it’s fine, I deserve it. I have these to console me.

P.S. Blair, ask and you shall receive

Leave a Reply

