Baking is a cruel mistress.

I cheated.

There, I said it. I’d like to say it makes me feel better, but it doesn’t.
I love baking. Honestly, I do. With all its finicky, intricate steps, precise measurements. It’s one of my life’s big loves.

But today, I seriously CBF.
However, I’ve shot myself in the foot as I made a habit of bringing treats to work on Friday. It’s also my boss’s birthday, and she’s letting me make a Nativity scene out of dinosaurs on work time, so… I’m bringing treats.

We’ve talked about food trends around P-Town before. If you know anything about baking, then you know the current trend is cake pops. Sweet balls of cake on a stick. They’re seriously tasty. I’ll get around to making them one day, promise. So, inspired by this, I thought, cookie pops. Oreo pops, if you will. Oreos, on little sticks, covered in chocolate. Winning.

There’s no baking here. In fact, aside from melting chocolate, there’s no real cooking.
I know, I know, but I’m tired, and a little short on time. So, I figured I’d cheat a little.

Oreo Cake Pops

1 packet of Oreos
1 block of chocolate (white/milk/dark, doesn’t matter)
Lollypop sticks or toothpicks
Coloured sugar or sugar decorations

1) Place broken up chocolate into a ceramic bowl over a pot of simmering water. Stir with a metal spoon until mostly melted. Remove from heat, and continue to stir until entirely melted.

2) Insert stick/toothpick into Oreo, to resemble a lollypop. Cover in melted chocolate, either by dipping or smothering with a knife.

3) Sprinkle with decorations. Lay on baking paper.

4) Repeat with remaining Oreos. Place in fridge until chocolate has set. If you plan on boxing them up, place a layer of baking paper between layers of Oreos, so the chocolate doesn’t stick.

I told you. They aren’t rocket science.

They are however, messy. Chocolate and green decorating sugar everywhere. Be warned, coloured sugars stain the skin.

I don’t much mind about the fact I can’t get this stuff off my hands.
Except  I just rubbed my face.

Told you, baking is having her revenge.
*sigh*

Leave a Reply

