Food bribery gets stuff done.

I make no secret of the fact that I like to bribe people with food to do my bidding.
What? It’s like the age-old bartering system, where the Europeans traded blankets for food with the Native American Indians. Except, that’s also how they all got smallpox and died… Look, the point is, no one has died after I’ve fed them, I swear. Wait, that’s not my point. Oh god, I’ve forgotten what my point is…

Anyway. I convinced some friends to help me move some stuff around my house, and for that, I offered to cook them dinner. It’s how the system works, right? After the crazy of last week’s Christmas feast, I wanted to do simple. And fewer dishes. For that, this dish is magic. Everything goes in one pan, it’s filling but not heavy (unless you eat the whole pan. The thought crossed my mind), and who doesn’t love to eat straight out of the pan? Just me? Oh. Well, this just got awkward.

Also – the leftovers are awesome.

Turkish Meatballs with Eggs and Flat Bread

Adapted from: Kitchen Coquette by Katrina Meynink

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion finely chopped
400g tinned crushed tomatoes
1 tbsp brown sugar
500g cherry tomatoes
3 eggs
2 tsp ground coriander
2 tsp sumac
2 tsp ground cumin
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
600g beef mince
1 chorizo sausage
200g Persian feta
a handful of coriander leaves
a handful of mint leaves

1. For the meatballs, place half the onion in a mixing bowl and add spices, garlic, one of the eggs and the mince. Season with salt and pepper. Mix well, and using your hands, roll into even walnut sized balls.

2. Heat oil in a large frying pan and sauté the rest of the onion until just translucent. Remove the onion, and add the meatballs and chorizo to the pan in batches, until cooked through.

3.Return all the meatballs and chorizo to the pan and add the onions, tinned tomatoes and sugar. Cook for 10 minutes, or until the liquid is reduced by half. Add the cherry tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes, until the skin is starting to burst.

4. Crack the remaining eggs over the mixture and cook for 3 minutes or until cooked to your liking.

5. Scatter the feta, coriander and mint over the top, and serve directly from the pan with naan bread.

Wheezey may have licked her plate clean. Does a compliment come any better than that? I don’t think so.

3 thoughts on “Food bribery gets stuff done.

Leave a Reply

