Eating on the move

I hate moving house.

When I first moved out of home, I had a bit of a bad run with houses/housemates which resulted in me having to pack up my many, many books, and move in the opposite direction from which I’d come. When I found this place, solemnly vowed that I would live and die an old teacup pig lady (because you never hear about crazy old teacup pig ladies, only cats)  in this house.

From having to move so much in such a short amount of time, you realise very quick just how much junk you own. You also realise how much junk other people give you. So when a friend from work moved into her new house last week, and I started to think of what to present her with as a housewarming gift, I couldn’t bring myself to hand over a garden gnome/dust collector/coffee table book which would just end up in a cupboard.

Food, once again, would be the answer.

Sneaky like a ninja, I set about determining what kind of amazing baked sweet she’d like best.
I was promptly deflated with “I’m more of a savoury kind of girl”.
Bollocks.
What the hell do I make for a person who doesn’t have a sweet tooth?
One panicked phone call to mum later (she also doesn’t have a sweet tooth. She tells me I’m adopted), I was back on track

Simple, easy, delicious. Because what goes together better than smoked salmon and creamy camembert?

Smoked Salmon and Camembert Mini Tarts

3/4 cup thin cream
3 eggs
2 tbsp fresh dill, chopped
100g smoked salmon
100g Camembert, thinly sliced
3 sheets of shortcrust or puff pastry

1. Preheat oven to 190*c. Cut pastry sheet into quarters,and press each quarter into each hole of a lightly greased muffin tin. Trim away any excess pastry. Lightly prick the base of the pastry with a fork. If you wish, you can fill each tart with rice or baking weights. Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven, remove weights and reduce the temperature to 180*c.

2. In a large jug or bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, and dill. Season with salt and pepper. Arrange salmon and camembert evenly in the base of each tart. Carefully pour the egg mixture into each tart shell, almost to the top, being careful not to over fill.

3. Bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes, or until the filling is golden and just set in the middle. Cool on a wire rack, or eat immediately.

Leave a Reply

