Love Love Love

This was one of my best and worst ideas yet.

In the flurry of Valentine’s Day recipes flooding the interwebz in the days leading up to the most romantic day of the year, I found The One. That one recipe above all others, that truly understands me, my needs, my deepest desires.
Being as I’m all kinds of girl cliché, those needs and desired are relatively simple.

I need chocolate. Lots of it.

I’ve long had a love for nut liquors. My 21st birthday was, rather regrettably, spent knocking back shots of newly discovered (for me) Amaretto. I remember it being delicious, if little else. I similarly discovered Frangelico at a friend’s birthday, on the rocks with a twist of lime. That night also didn’t end well for me. I should be seeing a trend here… But I don’t really want to, and I can’t seem to find a way around that, so…
To be able to combine chocolate and Frangelico, along with Nutella (which I’ve been known to slather on Tim Tams like they’re toast in desperate times)… I’m in heaven.

I didn’t make these for Valentine’s Day. I did, however, get to share them with people I love.
Kiiiiind of wished that I’d saved the recipe for a day that was a little more… Seasonally appropriate. Rolling truffles when it’s 35*c outside… Not the best idea I’ve ever had. They make mess. Like, a lot of mess.

To be fair, my versions were probably not as pretty or elegant as they could be. But to hell with that, they were delicious.
Because love means never judging a truffle by its  cover, right? Wait, that’s not how that goes…

Nutella Truffles

From My Baking Addiction

Ingredients:
280g dark chocolate
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup Nutella
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons Frangelico liqueur
1/2 cup toasted hazelnuts, finely chopped

1) Preheat an oven to 180*c. Spread out hazelnuts in a single layer on a baking tray and toast lightly, for about 10 minutes. To peel the skins, gently rub between two clean tea towels.

1. In a double boiler or metal bowl over water simmering in a small saucepan, combine chocolate, butter, double cream and Nutella. Stir until the chocolate has melted and combined.

2. Remove the mixture from heat and for 10 minutes sit at room temperature. Whisk in vanilla and Frangelico. Pour the mixture into a sturdy, shallow container. Refrigerate for about 2 hours, until firm but still able to be worked with.

3. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Using a small spoon or scoop, roll into small balls and put on baking paper. roll balls in chopped hazelnuts. Keep in the fridge until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

