No rest for the wicked. Instead: Eggs

Team, there’s something I need to confess to. Sit down, this is a safe place, right?

Ok, so we’ve well established that I love breakfast. Good.
There’s this thing.
On weekends, I’m rarely awake early enough to eat it. Left to its own devices, my body will naturally sleep through until 11am, no problems.
Unless.
I’ve had a little to drink. I can’t sleep when I’ve been drinking; it just doesn’t sit well. I wake up every hour, wander around, spend forever trying to settle back into whatever restless doze takes over.

Last Saturday night… Well, this happened.

The short version of the story is: I’m no good at card games. I’m not sure how that’s possible as it’s a game of chance. Regardless, I lost; those shots were two of five, and I didn’t sleep a wink.

On the plus side, you should always invite me to parties. I wake up at the crack of dawn, and make breakfast.

Eggs always make me feel better. Plain and simple, or dressed up however you like, they’re always exactly what you need. This recipe is really simple, really fast and has some serious flavour. Perfect on an upset stomach.

Greek Baked Eggs

From Salted and Styled

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon heavy cream
5 large eggs
5 Kalamata olives, pitted and roughly chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon finely chopped fresh oregano
1/2 teaspoon finely chopped fresh thyme
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh parsley
¼ cup crumbled feta cheese

1) Preheat oven to 180*c. Add the butter and cream to the bottom of a heavy based, oven proof pan. Place in the oven for 3 or 4 minutes, until the butter and cream mixture is hot and bubbles.

2) Place chopped herbs, garlic and olives in a small bowl.

3) Once the butter and cream have bubbled, quickly but carefully crack the eggs into the pan. Evenly sprinkle herb mix. Top with crumbled feta, cracked black pepper and a pinch of salt.

4) Place the pan back in the oven and cook for about 5 minutes, until the whites are almost set. Eggs continue to cook once you take them off/out of heat, so be careful not to overcook them. Let them sit out of the oven for a minute before serving. Probably with Turkish bread. Everything tastes better with Turkish bread. True story.

P.S. That beautiful goat feta from Urban Locavore I talked about last Friday? Tastes like heaven when used in baked eggs.

5 thoughts on “No rest for the wicked. Instead: Eggs

  1. kelstar says:

    ummm….I think you just found THAT recipe…like my perfect recipe!!!! It combines all of my favourite things & quite frankly, it wouldn’t make a hoot of difference if you ate it for breakfast, lunch &/or dinner! I love it!

Leave a Reply

