The perils of being a grown-up

It’s a Monday.
I learnt everything I needed to know about Mondays very early on in life, thanks to Garfield.
Quite simply, they suck, and should be avoided at all costs. Sadly, being a ‘grown up’ prevents me from spending Mondays curled up in bed with macarons and reading Game of Thrones. Personally, I feel that being and adult is ridiculous and over rated.

My respite on Monday evenings is yoga. I spend all day hunched up at my desk, come home to hunch over my laptop; then sleep in all manner of weird positions. The opportunity to stretch out and disconnect for an hour is one that I relish, even though the cracking noises my joints make freak out the other attendees.

However, yoga is smack in the middle of dinner prep time. There is no way I’m starting to cook at 8pm when I get home. However, having to leave by 6pm doesn’t  leave me with much time. This is, without a doubt, one of the fastest and easiest recipes in my repertoire. It seriously takes no more than 20 minutes (less time than a macca’s run – Newport, I’m looking at you!) and most of the ingredients are probably floating around in your pantry.
For those of you who are chili phobic and think curry = tears – fear not. Red curry paste is big on flavour, not on heat. Also, the vegetables (because yes, as an adult, you still have to eat them!) are easily interchangeable for whatever you like or have on hand.

Easy Red Chicken Curry

Ingredients:
600 grams diced chicken thighs
2 tbsp red curry paste
400g coconut milk
1 red capsicum, cut into strips
1 bunch of broccolini, stalks trimmed
2 tsp fish sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp peanut butter
coriander leaves, to serve

1) Heat a large saucepan. Stir the curry paste for a minute, until fragrant. Throw in the chicken, making sure it is coated in curry paste.

Add the coconut milk and stir for 2 minutes or 3 minutes. Keep on a medium heat to prevent the milk from boiling and separating.

2. Stir in the fish sauce, sugar and peanut butter. Stir until the peanut butter melts into the sauce. Toss in the capsicum and broccolini. Simmer for 5 minutes or until the chicken is done.

3. Serve with steamed rice and coriander leaves

I promise, I’ll take it easy on the chicken for a little while. Perhaps I’ll teach you how to cook a steak. Or ceviche.
Unless I get given a reason to cook a turducken. In which case, I do not apologise for the poultry overdose. In fact, you may need to come around and help me eat it.
Deal?

One thought on “The perils of being a grown-up

  1. Oh come on, you need a reason to cook a turducken? 😉

    Thanks for the recipe idea, though – my grown up slump day is typically Wednesday (meetings, meetings and more meetings) so this looks like a good one for tonight!

Leave a Reply

