The things we crave

When people are asked what they would like for their last meal in life, the answer is very rarely foie gras, terrine, caviar.
It’s usually something from their childhood, something from home. Their mothers used to make it on Sunday nights, their grandmothers when they were ill.

After several weeks of being run off my feet, come the weekend I was tired. Could-barely-remember-my-own-name kind of tired. Cue the cravings of the things my mother made me growing up, something to make me feel better. I tried once to ask Mum what her recipe was for this; I was met with funny looks and told just to look one up. I always forget that Mum is superhuman and has never followed a recipe in her life!

After a little Googling, I figured the people who know best are the people who make they key ingredient.
Sorry Mum, I now that make curried sausages as well as you, I’m not sure I see a need for our relationship going forward. Thanks, though. We’ve had a good run.

Curried Sausages with Mashed Potato

From McCormick’s

Ingredients
8 BBQ sausages
2 tbsp oil
1 large onion, thinly sliced
1/2 tbsp Keens curry powder
2 tbsp plain flour
2 cups chicken stock
2 tbsp cream

Mashed Potatoes
800g potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks
salted butter (I say about 100g, but to taste)
1tbsp cream

1. Place sausages into simmering water for 5 minutes. Let them cool enough to handle, de-case them and chop into pieces roughly 5cm long. Set aside. Heat the oil in a frying pan, cook the onion until soft, around 3 minutes.

2. Add in the curry powder, fry for a further 2 minutes then mix through the flour. Pour in the stock and return the sausages to the pan.

3. Bringing a large pot of salted water to the boil, add the potatoes and cook for 20 minutes or until tender. Drain, return to the pot (off heat) and with a potato masher, work the potatoes, cream and butter to a smooth consistency. Add salt if required.

3. Bring the pan with the sausages to the boil stirring and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add the cream in the last five minutes before serving.

Serve sausages on a bed of mash.

One thought on “The things we crave

Leave a Reply

