As fate would have it…

Some meals are like serendipity.

It’s been a long weekend. Sadly, not in a ‘I’ve had 4 days off’ kind of long weekend; it’s just that I haven’t stopped yet. Between birthdays and dinners, markets and movies, rugby and one seriously large puppy play date… I barely had a minute to stop and realise it’s completely pouring with rain outside. Perth’s first day of serious rain all year. It was gorgeous.

My first stop on a Saturday is always the Subiaco Farmers Markets for my week’s shopping. I love getting advice from the farmers as to what they like best, or product recommendations for anything I plan on cooking.
Stopping to see The Beef Guy, I was quickly sold on some beautiful, slightly fatty mince. I didn’t have plans for it but just couldn’t say no.

As fate would have it, Saturday afternoon brought a delivery from Urban Locavore. This month’s box features some gorgeous fresh pasta from Golden Ravioli. My impulse beef mince was quickly becoming a cold weather feast of classic comfort food – bolognese.

Simple Spaghetti Bolognese

1 tbs olive oil
20g butter
2 brown onions, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
500g beef mince
1/2 cup tomato paste
1 cup red wine
2 x 400g cans diced tomatoes
1 tbs dried oregano
3 dried bay leaves
375g  spaghetti

1) Cook onion and garlic in the oil and butter in a large saucepan, stirring, for 3 minutes or until onion softens. Add the mince, breaking up any lumps, for 5 minutes or until the mince changes colour.

2) Add the tomato paste, wine, tomato, oregano and bay leaves, and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring from time to time, for 1 hour or until sauce reduces and thickens. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

3) Cook the pasta to packet instructions. Drain

4) Divide the spaghetti among bowls and spoon over bolognese sauce. Grate over the parmesan and serve immediately.

One thought on “As fate would have it…

  1. I made my first bolognese last week and it was awesome, thinking it will become a staple winter meal. I didnt think to add red wine, I guess this means I will have to buy a bottle now. If only I actually drank wine, instead of buying bottles to use for cooking.

Leave a Reply

