Peanut butter ice-cream time!

I get cravings. Cravings that make pregnant women seem perfectly sound of mind. My cravings, when they kick in with full force, turn me manic with borderline Terminator-level focus.

This time around, it was a little unusual. Kitsch in Leederville is one of my favourite places for a feed. It also serves up my favourite dessert, a peanut butter ice cream sandwich. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but trust me. It’s amazing. So, when the need kicked in while I was at work one afternoon,  I bounded out at lunch and headed straight for the closest gelato shop. Then the next one. And the next one. And the one after that.

No one made peanut butter ice cream.

Sure, I made do with cookies and cream, but it wasn’t the same, the craving remained.
You know what they say, necessity is the mother of invention, and luckily for me, my mother bought me an ice cream maker.

Peanut Butter Ice Cream

From Recipe Girl

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups smooth peanut butter
3/4 cup caster sugar
1 1/4 cups whole milk
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups chopped chocolate peanut butter cups (8 to 10 regular-sized PB cups)

1. In a mixing bowl, beat peanut butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add milk and mix on low until sugar is completely dissolved. Mix in the cream and vanilla and beat until combined.

2. Pour the mixture into your ice cream maker, and mix according to instructions. I mixed mine on the lowest setting, and it only took about 15 minutes of churning. Just before you’re done mixing, add the chopped peanut butter cups if you’re using them. The ice cream should be a soft-serve consistency.

3. Keep ice cream in a sealed plastic container in the freezer.

I also love the idea suggested to me by my gorgeous friend at Colpanna, to warm a little strawberry jam and pour over the top. PB & J sundae, anyone?

One thought on “Peanut butter ice-cream time!

Leave a comment