Tastes like home

What food did you love growing up?

I was always really jealous of the kids around me who came from different backgrounds. I grew up surrounded by Italians (I believed their pigeons were pets – silly me!), my friends were Thai, Serbian, English and Indian. They had family trips back to ‘The Home Country’, interesting relatives in return. They had special days off to celebrate holidays and festivals.

I mean this in the nicest way possible, but I’m painfully Australian. I got zip, zilch, nada of these fun things. All those fun foods? I didn’t get those either.  But, before you start playing the tiny violins for me, don’t worry. The flavours I grew up loving were a little less traditional Australian, but good none the less.

I loved the sweet and salty balance of char siu sauce, usually used to marinate chicken skewers for barbecues. I’d plead with mum to make them for me whenever she could. The second they came off the grill, there I was, getting in the way of anyone who dared thought they could have one. They were my precioussssssss.

The marinade is traditionally paired with pork, and makes these gorgeous organic pork ribs amazing. You should get some. Really.

Char Siu Pork Ribs

From Not Quite Nigella

Ingredients:

300g Pork Ribs
4 tablespoons of Lee Kum Kee Char Siu sauce
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons white sugar
3-4 garlic cloves chopped
4 tablespoons honey

1) Mix together char siu, salt, sugar and garlic in a ziploc bag. Add the ribs to the bag, and carefully smush the marinade around the ribs to coat. Marinate overnight if you have time, or for at least an hour.

2) Preheat oven to 180C degrees. Bring the ribs to room temperature. Put the ribs on a rack over a baking tray of water. Cook for 30 minutes, turning halfway.

3) Increase the temperature of the oven to 200c. With a pastry brush, baste one side of the pork with the honey, cooking for 5 minutes, then turn over baste other side with more honey and cook for a further 5 minutes.

4) Allow to cool for a couple of minutes before serving.
Serve with steamed rice and Asian greens.

3 thoughts on “Tastes like home

  1. Snap! I managed to get a couple of packets of those divine ribs from SBF on Saturday and the whole family loved them!
    My dad always made gorgeous, tender, sticky barbecued ribs when I was growing up – long before they became popular (and more expensive, much to my parents dismay!)

Leave a Reply

