If I give you a muffin, will you be my muffin?

I have one of those embarrassing-now confessions.

Growing up, when the lunch boxes were opened up, I was always really jealous of the kids that had mini pickets of chips, Tim Tams. The kids that ordered their lunches weekly.

My lunch box contained home made ANZAC biscuits, cakes and muffins, sandwiches that contained different fillings every day. Looking back now, clearly I was an idiot. Who doesn’t love polony and tomato sauce sandwiches? No cafe in Perth will make them for me, which is ridiculous because they are delicious.

Mum would regularly have days where she’d bake tray after tray of lunch box delights. I’d come home just in time to score the last one, fresh out of the oven. The rest were rolled up in glad wrap, and carted out to the freezer by the armful. If one or two happened to fall into my pockets for eating later… Well, that was just good luck.

So, with a Saturday in the kitchen on the cards, and a tub of fresh strawberries purchased; it was only going to end in muffins.

And yes, they freeze beautifully.

Strawberries & Cream Muffins

From Southern Food

Ingredients

2 cups plain flour
1 cup caster sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
50g butter, melted
2/3 cup cream
1 1/2 cups strawberries, chopped

Crumb
1/3 cup plain flour
3 tbsp packed brown sugar
3 tbsp butter, softened
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch salt

1) Heat the oven to 190°. Line a muffin tin with muffin papers.

2) Combine flour, 1 cup caster sugar, baking powder and salt in a mixing bowl. Whisk together eggs, cream, and vanilla. Slowly add the flour mixture and melted butter, stirring until just combined. Carefully fold through the strawberries. Set aside.

3) Combine the ingredients for the topping, and work them to create a crumble texture.

4) Fill the papers 2/3 full, then sprinkle with a generous amount of crumble.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

3 thoughts on “If I give you a muffin, will you be my muffin?

  1. gdhsvegepatch says:

    Yum! They look gorgeous. I was one of those kids who got to order their lunch every day, in high school at least. In primary school I had lunchboxes like yours though, but with old faves like roll ups and juice boxes. I was jealous of the kids who had the home made snacks – I tried to trade but, not happening.

Leave a Reply

