Learning to juggle

I take my hat off to multi taskers. I know there’s supposed to be a female genetic requirement for me to be able to juggle several things at once, but I can’t.

First of all, I can’t juggle. It’s far to advanced for my very basic coordination levels. I barely manage patting my head and rubbing my tummy. Second, I have a short attention span, and a goldfish-like short term memory. I get distracted by the second task, then forget the first one all together. Cue things burning, overflowing and just generally going to crap. I’m not kidding, I wanted to add roasted tomatoes to this recipe. Put them in the oven, set about preparing the rest of the meal. Promptly forgot about the tomatoes.

This happened.

I threw out the baking dish.

So when I stumbled upon a recipe that is both delicious and healthy, I couldn’t help but give it a whirl. There is no way to lose with this recipe. It’s steak. It’s salad. It’s yummy. It’s sneakily good for you. It’s easy. It’s fast. IT’S EVERYTHING I COULD EVER ASK FOR. I find straight-up salads so unsatisfying, so if there’s a way you can make one that fills me up, I tip my hat to you. Use it to trick your men folk! Children! Ok, perhaps chorizo isn’t terribly good for you, but given the rest is, I figure it balances out… Right? Guys?

Balsamic Beef & Chickpea Salad

From Donna Hay

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon horseradish cream
2 1/1 tablespoons olive oil
2 chorizo, sliced
800g beef fillet steak
400g can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
100g baby spinach leaveds
1 cup mint leaves

Whisk together the balsamic vinegar, horseradish and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Heat half a tablespoon of olive oil in a large frying pan over high heat. Add the chorizo and cook until golden, a couple of minutes each side. Set aside on kitchen paper.

Season the steak on both sides and cook, turning frequently, for 15 minutes or cooked to your liking. Allow to rest for 10 minutes, then slice.

Add the chickpeas to the pan and cook for a couple of minutes until golden.

Toss together the chickpeas, chorizo, spinach and mint. Add balsamic dressing and toss to coat.

Serve with sliced steak on top of salad.

One thought on “Learning to juggle

Leave a Reply

