Shortbread n not-so-sweet

Savoury treats. They exist! Who knew? Not me, because I like sugar. But there are people, those strange, puzzling people who like salt and they deserve treats too.Β I feel bad for those people because I just don’t think about them when I’m baking. Given that I live to cook for other people, I feel terrible when someone is left out.

There is only one girl on my team at work who has no sweet tooth. She politely smiles at me when I bring in cake, when I know she’s really wishing I had brought chips. When I stumbled on a recipe for savoury shortbread while trawling the archives of Raspberri Cupcakes, I made a mental note to make them immediately.

What I love about this recipe, is that you split the dough in half and chill prior to baking. One roll made at least a dozen biscuits, so the other roll can be frozen for use another day – great when you have surprise visitors and nothing to eat! I love having things stashed away in the freezer like that, ready to whip out at a moment’s notice; it makes me feel like a Supremely Organised Martha Stewart-esque Domestic Goddess. Functioning adult FTW!

I loved these with a little roasted garlic and a gorgeous Camembert from Over the Moon. The garlic is simple – peel half a dozen cloves of garlic, throw them in a roasting dish with a little olive oil and salt and pepper, roast for 20-30 minutes at 200*c until soft and lightly browned. Mash with a fork, add a little more olive oil until a paste forms, taste; add more seasoning if required.

Kalamata Olive & Black Pepper Savoury Shortbread

From Raspberri Cupcakes

100g well-drained, pitted and finely diced kalamata olives
300g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarb soda
1 tsp salt
3 tsp freshly cracked black pepper
280g unsalted butter, softened
4 tbsp white sugar
1 large egg yolk

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, bicarb soda, salt and pepper then set aside. Beat together butter and sugar until fluffy, then add the egg yolk and combine thoroughly.Β Mix in the flour slowly, then fold through the chopped olives.

On a floured bench top, bring the dough together. Halve the dough and roll them into logs, about 4cm. Wrap them up in glad wrap and freeze for an hour to firm up.

Heat the oven to 180*c. Unwrap the dough, and cut into half centimeter slices.

Place on baking trays lined with baking paper. Bake for 10 minutes or until the edges gently brown. Allow to cool on a wire rack, and store in an air tight container for up to a week.

5 thoughts on “Shortbread n not-so-sweet

Leave a Reply

