Kitchen mixed tapes

I had the great joy of taking Frankie (if you’re new here – that’s my dad. Say hello!) to see Sound City recently. *side note: If you haven’t seen it – do so. Immediately. Awesomeness abound.

My dad lights up like a Christmas tree when you get him talking about his favourite music. The records he owned, the memories they trigger, the people he saw in concert. He tells a great story of getting to see Eric Clapton in concert in the midst of his downward spiral – Clapton was so wasted he could barely keep himself on his stool and play. He’s ok now, folks, don’t worry.

But of course, those stories aren’t exclusive to Frankie. The magic of music on the whole is that we all have these stories. Our own personal soundtracks, mixed tapes, whatever.

So, in the interest of sharing (and you giving me your recommendations so I can fill up my iPod), here are some of mine. Feel free to judge me, I don’t mind. I brought this upon myself.

The song that my dad taught me the words to as a little kid: Bad Medicine
The song I like to dance in my kitchen to: The Time is Now
The song I like to drive to when I’m roadtripping: Babylon. Or Thriftshop. Or possibly Run the World. Sometimes Horses.
The song I like to drive to on a Monday when I’m running late: Smells Like Teen Spirit
The song I like to play at late at night: About Today
The song that makes me want to dance in a manner that embarrasses everyone else around me: Chelsea Dagger (no, seriously. Don’t be seen with me in public)

What does all of that have to do with anything? Well, there’s nothing that brings people together like music. Except for food. The two common denominators for humanity; things that are good for the soul, that feed you.

See? Segue!

I loved this recipe, because it’s burgers but not as you know them. Vegetables! Which makes it good for you, right?! Also, it’s a massive, fresh flavour without much work. They do make great burgers, but I also ate leftovers with rice the next day (where I swear it tasted even better).

Ginger Pork Burger

From Food Republic

1 pound pork sirloin
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons finely grated yellow onion
2 tablespoons finely grated apple, skin on
2 tablespoons finely grated ginger
1 large clove garlic, grated
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons sesame oil
3 ounces mushrooms, stems removed
1 small carrot, peeled
2 spring onions, green part only
1/2 small head lettuce
1 tablespoon canola oil or vegetable oil
2 tablespoons white sesame seeds, toasted (optional)
6 Hamburger buns

1.Thinly slice the pork against the grain. Mix together the Worcestershire sauce, honey, onion, apple, ginger, garlic, salt and sesame oil in a large bowl. Throw in the pork, turn to coat and set aside for at least 20 minutes to marinate.

IMG_5946

2. Thinly slice the mushrooms, spring onions and lettuce into strips. Then, using a vegetable peeler, peel the carrots into long ribbons.

3. In a frying pan over medium heat, heat the oil, then add the pork (but not the marinade – but don’t throw it out) in a single layer and cook until golden, turning a couple of times. Transfer the pork to a plate. Add the carrot and mushrooms to the pan, and cook until slightly wilted. Return the pork to the pan, and add the marinade. Turn up the heat to high, and cook until the sauce thickens and coats everything. If you’re using the sesame seeds, add them now, and stir.

IMG_5947

4. Gently toast the buns. Divide the pork lettuce and spring onions between the buns.

IMG_5948

Grating the ginger/apple/garlic is fantastic because it’s on utensil (less dishes is good, remember?).
Grating the ginger/apple/garlic is awful, because I have a pathalogical fear of mandolins/peelers/graters because I hurt myself.
That’s right. I grated my nuckle while making this. But don’t worry, dinner was a flesh free affair. But it bloody hurt. Because ginger and garlic are not open wound friendly.

Let that be a lesson to y’all.

One thought on “Kitchen mixed tapes

Leave a Reply

