Playing the random game

Today, I don’t have a story to tell you. Some days that happens.

Instead, we are going to play my favourite non-board game, ‘Tell me something random’. To be fair, if you’re going to be spending some time hanging around here, you should know what you’re getting yourself in for…

  • I believed for a very long time that vampires lived in my cupboard, and so all doors had to be closed when I went to bed at night so they wouldn’t eat me. True story.
  • I have never broken a bone. I have compressed 5 vertebrae, and scored myself a wicked black eye, though. Does that count?
  • I love notebooks. I don’t like to write in them though, because it ruins the pretty white pages and I hate that. I’m aware that’s stupid.
  • If being 26 and still obsessed with dinosaurs is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.
  • Sometimes, just getting out of bed is a good enough reason to take a nap.
  • I truly believe that ice cream should be its own food group. I mean, it goes in milk shakes, sundaes, on waffles, it comes in a bajillion flavours… I’d eat it every day if I could.
  • I’m a ridiculous Harry Potter fan, however I refuse to watch the final movie because once I do, it’s all over. I haven’t worked out how to deal with that.
  • I don’t like mangoes. Or avocados. I know! I know! I’m weird.
  • I believe Grumpy Cat is my soul mate.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup plain flour
1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
280 g chunky peanut butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup caster sugar
125 g unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
155 g chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Beat together the peanut butter, sugars, egg, butter and vanilla. Slowly combine the flour, bicarb soda and salt until combined. Fold through the chocolate chips evenly.

IMG_6293

Roll a couple of tablespoons worth of dough into a ball and place on the baking tray, spaced apart a couple of inches apart.

Bake for about 12 minutes, or until the cookies puff and begin to brown on top but are still very soft to the touch. Leave the cookies to cool completely.

IMG_6296

I warn you, these are a very soft cookie. A super delicious, soft and crumbly cookie. I used Gabriel’s dark chocolate that I found in my house (surprise stash!), chopped it up and threw it in the mix. The chocolate remained gooey once the cookies cooled. YUM.

P.S. I’d love to take a moment to share my favourite blogs at the moment. Check them out!

  • The Pub Diaries – Max was the author of the fantastic piece about food blogger’s in last Thursday’s West Australian (featuring meeeee). But I love his blog, full of little bit about Perth, pubs and beer related goodness.
  • Snackhole – My gorgeous friend Josie writes about my favourite food in the universe – junk food. The really bad for you kind. This sparks all manner of crazy cravings, and I LOVE it.
  • Lacey Street – Amy and Eliza have put together the most beautiful lifestyle blog, full of gorgeous pictures and general loveliness.
One thought on “Playing the random game

Leave a Reply

