My favourite sin

There seems to be a direct link between the declining temperature, and my willingness to do stuff. In short, it gets cold, I become a sloth.

It’s not my fault, really. I mean, what incentive is there to break free from the incredible cosy warmth of my bed/fort and endless tv, to venture out into the cold harsh world? There is none.

(Yes, I’m aware that Real Winter doesn’t start until next month. I’m a sook, ok?)

Necessity is the mother of invention, and it is with this that I’ve discovered the genius of slow cooking. You toss everything into a pan, throw it in the oven for a couple of hours, and once you wake up from your nap – DINNER! How good is that?!

This recipe went straight to the top of my to-do list. With its wholesome, filling lentils, delicious wintery vegetables (which I chopped in a blender because I was feeling really lazy) and beef that honestly, literally falls off the bone; it’s the perfect Sunday recipe.

Sloth + Gluttony = Happy Bri, even if it makes me a sinner. Hell will totally be worth it.

I used beef ribs from Gingin Beef, because look at that picture. Can you see that marbled fat? That my friend, is a very, very good thing. When slow cooking, fat is your friend, adding flavour and preventing the meat from drying out. Embrace it.

Braised beef short rib with moghrabieh and green lentils

From Delicious Magazine

1tbs olive oil
2.5kg beef short ribs
1 onion, finely chopped
2 carrots, finely chopped
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
5 garlic cloves, crushed
1 cup red wine
1L beef stock
5 cardamom pods, lightly bruised
1 cinnamon quill
5 cloves
1 cup moghrabieh (pearl or giant couscous)
1 cup green lentils
1/2 bunch parsley, chopped

Heat the oven to 170*C. Heat the oil in a roasting pan, then add the ribs, browning thoroughly on all sides. Set aside.

IMG_7002

Over medium heat, add the carrots, celery and onion to the pan and stir for 5 minutes until soft. Add the garlic and continue to stir until fragrant. Add the wine to the pan and cook until the wine reduces by half, 3-4 minutes. Add the cardamom, cinnamon, cloves and stock, then simmer.

Nestle the ribs back in the pan, cover with baking paper and the foil. Put the pan in the oven and cook for 3 hours, or until the meat is falling off the bone. Remove the ribs, shred the meat and discard the bones. Reserve the juices from the pan.

Cook the lentils and the moghrabieh in separate pans of salted water. Each pan should take around 20 minutes, or until tender. Drain and set aside.

Over medium heat, skim the fat from the roasting pan and then cook until slightly thickened, 5 minutes or so. Combine all the ingredients, and serve with yoghurt.


IMG_7006

Turns out, I didn’t have all of those whole spices like I thought I did. Overzealous pantry cleaning, coupled with a forgetful brain. Always replace the stuff you throw out, kids. I used 1/2 tsp of ground cloves, and 1 tsp ground cardamom instead. Also, I only had 1.8kg of ribs, and it all worked beautifully.

Leave a Reply

