I want to butter you up…

Welcome you your newest obsession. And by yours, I mean mine.

I have very few recipes that I cook more than once, least of all regularly – but this is going on regular rotation; I’ve made it twice this week, and it’s only Friday! As is the case with most of Tosi’s treats I attempt…. I’m kind of losing my shit here. I can’t tell you how much I love this. This recipe is another stroke of Christina Tosi genius (see: Compost Cookies, Sprinkle Birthday Cake). Everything she touches turns to incredibleness and this is no exception.

I’m warning you now, it’s pretty sweet. I’ve given you the recipe as it is, but the second time I made it, I cut it down to 300g of icing sugar because I wanted the tartness of the lime to show through. I can’t believe I’m saying this… But it’s too much sugar. The 300 grams I used was pretty spot on, but if you’re worried, you could use less.

One more note – this is called ooey gooey for a reason. It’s definitely messy, but that’s half the fun!

Strawberry and Lime Ooey Gooey Butter Bars

Adapted from Bakers Royale

1 box of butter cake mix
110g butter, melted
1 egg
Zest on 1 lime
250g/1 punnet strawberries, halved if large
225g cream cheese, softened
Juice of 2 limes
2 eggs
450g icing sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 170*c.

Mix together the cake mix, melted butter, lime zest and 1 egg until thoroughly combined. Press into a brownie tin, lined with baking paper. Pour the strawberries over the cake mix in an even layer.

IMG_7143

IMG_7144

Mix together the remaining eggs, cream cheese, sugar, lime juice and vanilla until smooth. Pour the mixture over the top of the strawberries and cake mix, and tap gently on the bench to level.

IMG_7145

Bake for 30 minutes, or until the edges are golden and the center still shakes what it’s mama gave it.

Leave to cool in the pan (seriously – don’t take it out, it will fall apart). If you want a clean cut, it helps to freeze for 30 minutes.

IMG_7160

IMG_7161

Leave a Reply

