No good deed goes unpunished

Karma is a glorious but fickle thing.ย When it’s in your favour, everything is beautiful. But if it’s not… Pow! Right in the kisser!

While I can’t pretend I haven’t incurred karma’s wrath in times gone by, I do my level best to behave now that I’m older and wiser.

A few years back I had my handbag stolen while having lunch with some friends, and I was devastated.

The next day, in a flurry if trying to replace what I’d lost (so many limited edition lip glosses!), I got a call from my office to tell me that a stranger had found my bag in their front yard with my office ID in it, and returned what remained of my belongings. I was eternally grateful to the Samaritan who returned my bag, so when I happened across someone’s purse on my way into work last week, I set about returning it. Not because I need the karma points or I want to look good, but because it’s the right thing to do and someone was kind enough to do it for me.

Had I been able to thank the person who returned my things (I REALLY loved that bag), I would have given them a plate of these. Gently sweet, but not too much, slightly gooey and with the perfect amount of nuttiness thanks to the browned butter, these are the perfect way to say thank you to anyone, for any reason. Even if it’s just yourself!

Brown Butter Brown Sugar Blondies

From Savory Simple

113 grams unsalted butter
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 vanilla bean
1 cup plain flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
White chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat the oven to 180*c. Line a brownie tray with baking paper.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter, stirring frequently. Increase the heat to high, and continue to stir until the butter browns and smells toasted and nutty. Set aside to cool slightly.

Split the vanilla bean with a sharp knife and scrape out the seeds. Add to a small bowl with flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, vanilla extract, brown sugar and browned butter.

IMG_7819

Stir the dry ingredients into the wet until evenly combined. Add the white chocolate chips, if you’re using them. OF COURSE I’M USING THEM.

IMG_7826

Scrape the mixture into the brownie pan, spreading evenly.

IMG_7822

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool before serving.

IMG_7827

IMG_7829

3 thoughts on “No good deed goes unpunished

Leave a Reply

