T’was the night before Christmas…

And so here we are, 48 hours before the day that is both loved and hated by all. Weeks of stress, work, military-style planning and UN level diplomacy, shopping, scheduling and panic all seem to melt away once the first presents are opened, the bubbles start pouring, and the post-lunch food coma sets in. Whether you have a family with a cast of thousands or hold court over an orphan’s dinner, Christmas Day is a day like nothing else.

Today, I don’t have recipes for you. If you don’t have what you need by now, I can’t help you. Besides, Taste and Pinterest and Gourmet Traveller have had that shit on lock for months.

IMG_8969

But I’d like to take this moment in the calm before the storm to say thank you. I love and appreciate every single one of you.
Thank you for stopping by, and sharing your stories with me.
Thank you for politely laughing at my jokes and correcting my spelling.
Thank you for reading, for sharing, for enjoying.
Thank you for coming along for the ride with me (and for bringing Pringles, the ultimate road trip snack. You’re good).

Please drive safely, love your family (even if they’re jerks), and eat more than necessary – because if you can’t do it this one day, when can you?

Merry Christmas, folks.

 

P.S. If Christmas ain’t your thang (and I do not blame you – grinches forever!), then this is my gift to you. You’re welcome.

Leave a comment