Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.

I wish I could tell you that there is some kind of story as to why I made these cookies. Some kind of tale about visiting friends, sharing a biccie over a cup of tea; a true soul bonding moment.

No such luck, my dear reader. It comes down to my two favourite things. Gluttony and obsession. Once I happened across this recipe, I could think of nothing else until I made them. I mean, it’s caramel, with nutella, in a chocolate chic chip cookie. It’s everything I’ve ever dreamed of, if my dreams were anything like this. Which, let’s be honest, they are.

It goes without saying that these are mostย certainly a sometimes food.

h5CD5FA0B

They’re playing jump rope with that fine line between you and diabetes. But what’s the point in life if you can’t enjoy a sugar bomb once in a while? One that’s not worth living, that’s what. So go ahead.

Salted Caramel & Nutella Stuffed Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

From Top With Cinnamon

1/2 cup (110g) butter
1 1/2 cups (350g) light brown sugar
1/2 cup (55g) cocoa powder
2 eggs
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 cups (260g) all-purpose flour
100g milk or dark chocolate chips
flaky salt, for sprinkling
Nutella
15-16 caramel-filled chocolates (or whatever flavour you like – mint would also be excellent)

Preheat the oven to 180*c. Line a cookie tray with baking paper.

In a saucepan, melt the butter. Remove from heat and add the brown sugar and eggs, stirring to combine. Add the cocoa, salt and baking powder, then the flour, stirring well to combine. Carefully fold in the chocolate chips.

20140115-193527.jpg

Take about 1 tbsp of dough, flatten it into a disc; take 1 piece of caramel chocolate, dunk it in the Nutella, then wrap the cookie dough around the chocolate.

20140115-193557.jpg

Place on the cookie tray, then gently press flat with your palm (but don’t crush the chocolate).ย Sprinkle the cookies with flaky salt, then bake for 8-10 minutes.

20140115-193544.jpg

Leave to cool on a wire rack.

20140115-193724.jpg

4 thoughts on “Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.

  1. Bri! You seductive temptress you! I have no idea how we are going to maintain a friendship without me falling off the fitness wagon. I am certain that after next month, I’ll be discovered in a nest of cookie crumbs, contently smudged with sticky caramel.

    Homer Simpson will soon be my spirit animal. But for you, it’s totally worth it ;P
    xxx

Leave a Reply

