What I Love – Monstrositea Edition

Of course, not everyone is a coffee drinker. So, if my last post wasn’t quite your… Well, you know. Settle in, I have something for you.

The magic of a cup of tea is well established, the romance and ritual of something so small and simple is truly one of life’s great pleasures; no matter who you are.

In the interest of full disclosure, I am new to this whole tea drinking thing. I drink French earl grey with milk (gasp!) and sugar (shudder!). I like ginger tea when I’m stressed, jasmine in the afternoon, and Chinese over yum cha.

Little did I know that there is an art to tea. Different temperatures and steeping times, and for the love of god, no tea bags if it can be helped. Turns out, I have a lot to learn. What a delicious education awaits me!

Via Pinterest

Via Pinterest

Enter Monstrositea to show you how tea should be done. Five generous sample size teas in the cutest tin you’ve ever seen, delivered every month. Let the wild tea rumpus begin!

If you know someone who even remotely likes their tea, bundle up a tin from Monstrositea into their next gift. They will take you.

What I Love – Monstrositea Edition

Who are you/what do you do?

I’m Katherine, the Chief Curator of Monstrositea. I collect teas from all over the world, research them and their stories and then package them up to all of my subscribers in a monthly tea sample delivery. Tea adventures!

20140705-202807-73687783.jpg
Where did your love of tea come from?

Tea holds many different memories for me. My extended family have roots throughout China, Hong Kong and Malaysia, I grew up drinking Chinese tea at pretty much any opportunity but most commonly at Dim Sum and family get togethers. I distinctly remember cups of English Breakfast tea with my great grandmothers whilst we played scrabble in her lounge room. I guess I realised that I loved tea once I started exploring the world, tea and travel go hand in hand for me. Tea is full of culture and tradition, it’s a peak into everyday life and is something so many people hold dear and are very proud of.

How did Monstrositea come about?

Well…firstly practicality –  I buy a lot of tea, many of which I drink a few times and then put in my tea cupboard, to the point that my tea cupboard became a whole shelf in my pantry, a shelf in the kitchen and more… tea overfloweth! I thought it would be great to be able to try teas with enough to get a good feel for it, without committing the money and shelf space to a whole box until I knew that I loved it.

Second, I love travel and talking to people about tea. I have collected teas from all over the world, I have brought home more tea than a sane person would be expected to from every trip I’ve been on.  I have a fantastic collection of sensory experiences I can enjoy again and again. The dream is to travel the world curating incredible tea and cultural experiences. I truly believe you can travel from your tea pot, its what I do whilst saving for my next trip!

20140705-202808-73688389.jpg

Why Perth?

I happen to live in Perth, and despite Australia Post not being all that helpful to small ventures, it’s all too easy to run a business from here. I work full-time (the real job) so I value the flexibility of my employer and my lifestyle in Perth which allows me to juggle many things at once.

Perth people are generally open minded and looking for new experiences, it’s a good crowd to pitch new ideas at and get honest advice and experience back.

Your dream food day?

Dim Sum at 10am with a big pot of silky oolong tea, lunch of fresh sashimi salmon with a cup of freshly whisked matcha, followed by dinner of chipotle pulled pork tacos with fresh mango and avocado with a pot of peppermint tea.

What’s the best thing you ate recently?

I just came back from Japan and I’m currently feeling like everything I ate prior to this trip has been blown out of the water by the sheer incredibleness of all the amazing things I ate whilst there. A particular piece of marinated salmon sashimi is still playing on my mind, it just melted… However! prior to this, The Tuck Shop in Northbridge create some incredible things. They had a slow cooked lamb on their specials a couple of weeks ago and it blew my mind.

20140705-202807-73687494.jpg
Where do you love to go to eat?

Breakfast/brunch is my most favourite meal to go out to eat for, but only when its not your standard bacon and eggs, its got to be something a little left of centre, and come with great tea (of course!). I love the Tuck Shop (as mentioned previously), Harvest Espresso in Vic Park, Typika in Claremont, and Chapels on Whatley in Maylands.

Where do you love to hang out?

In the shady courtyard at my place. During my lunch hour I love to hang out in the Urban Orchard in the sun.

What’s your favourite thing right now?

Studio Ghibli films. I am in love, I guess I have been for a long time but having just come back from Japan my heart has been refilled with adoration. Lets watch Ponyo again, right now!

20140705-202808-73688092.jpg
What inspires you?

Nature, green spaces. I am inspired by urban greenery and well designed parks where people gather to relax, chat, eat, food truck, drink and be merry. I love that people can use space together and have a shared experience which not only connects them to the community but also to nature.

When I’m feeling flat, pessimistic and tired, getting outside is what I need to get my energy back. Even better yet, to be accompanied by wonderful friends and a thermos of chai.

What are you looking forward to in 2014?

(un)fortunately I packed all of my travel for 2014 into the first half of the year. It was a bit silly to go to India, Nepal and Japan in the space of 3 months, because… now what?!

Lucky for me Revelation Film Festival is about to begin, I look forward to this wonderful showcase of films every year and it has most certainly meant that I’m not getting the post holiday blues.

 

If you would like to know more about Monstrositea, check out their website, Facebook page, these reviews here and here.

All images via Monstrositea instagram

One thought on “What I Love – Monstrositea Edition

Leave a Reply

