Head & Heart | January

Oh hey team!

So, we’re back to Head & Heart. Check out what everyone else is up to over at Helarious, and join in!

 

What I’ve been grateful for:

People who eat my doughnuts. I try not to talk the doughnut stuff here because I kind of feel like they should be separate, but I spend my Saturday mornings blushing furiously when people come down to the markets and tell me that they made the trip just for doughnuts after seeing them on Instagram. And then they come back later to tell me how much they loved them. It’s a weird and amazing thing to have something you make enjoyed by people, and I can’t tell you how grateful I am for that feedback and support. You guys are awesome.

They say that some of the hardest things in life are moving house, the end of a relationship and leaving/starting a new job. I did all of these things in 3 months. And you know what? I couldn’t be happier. While it’s a terrible cliché, this year is truly a fresh start, and I’m really really really excited. Life is good.

IMG_2181

What I’ve been thinking about:

Feeling guilty when getting something that I want comes at the expense of someone else’s dreams. My best friend is coming home from London this week, which, as you can imagine, I’m ecstatic about… Except it came at the cost of his plans having not worked out. Is it a girl thing that I feel bad about this? Does this happen to other people? It’s not my fault, obviously, but I feel bad that my joy is coming at the expense of his sadness. STOP IT, GIRL BRAIN.

Planning. I have a full time 9-5. I have my Saturday morning markets with doughnut commitments, which is incredibly time consuming. I blog (not as much as I should, but you know what I mean). I work really hard, and I love what I do, but I promised myself more time out this year. I ended last year exhausted. Hell, I didn’t have any time off over Christmas, so I’m still kind of exhausted. So, I’ve promised myself more holidays and time out this year. Which means planning, which any list-maker will tell you is half the fun. Pinterest boards! Spreadsheets! Research! Wheeeeeee! Please tell me I’m not the only one that likes planning that much? Guys? Anyone? Buller?

Popcorn.
You heard me, popcorn. One of my neighbours must be going through a phase or something because the smell of it has been wafting through my windows every day this week. I NEED IT. Thankfully, Buzzfeed in all it’s listicle glory, has us covered. If you’re obsessed like me, there are recipes here, here and here. I’m also going to continue harassing the guys from The Flour Factory for the recipe for the popcorn they were dishing up at the launch of The Sherry last month. It was porky and smokey and salty and I would put a ring on it if I could.

IMG_2127

 

What I’m excited for:

Tis’ the season for awesome. There are SO MANY Fringe shows (and associated pop-up bars) to fill your nights with awesome, and PIAF is just around the corner.

In particular, The Giants appeal to both my inner grown up (where the hell are they hiding them in the city?!?!) and child (giant toys! SQUEAL) alike.

There are new restaurant openings every other day! Trying to keep up with them all is really hard, so I’ll try and list them for you in this space

  • Myaree is finally getting REAL coffee (THANK GOD) in the form of Grouch & Co, and not a moment too soon!
  • Eamon Sullivan opened May Street Larder, his third venue. You’ll see many an Instagram from this place in the coming weeks, but what you need to know is: COCO WHIP. Probiotics and coconut water, and that’s it. Now, it pains me greatly to say this, but it’s actually pretty damn tasty. The menu also features great salads (you’ll be trying to replicate them at home), various meats (rotisserie chicken, pork belly ect) and house made everything. You’ll love it.

 

IMG_2268

What I’ve been doing:

I loved Everything Unknown down at Cottesloe Beach for the Fringe Festival – a swift punch in the feels, both happy and sad. If you go, try and time your visit for sunset, because it only adds to the spectacular. And then you too can eat the delicious scallops and whitebait from Cott & Co, which is exactly what I did.

Aside from that, life has been pretty low key. And low key time for me means a LOT of movies. Now, if you haven’t seen it already, I MUST insist that you stop what you’re doing and watch The Book of Life IMMEDIATELY. Don’t worry that it’s animated or looks like a kid’s film, it’s bloody fantastic. I recommended it to my movie-loving friend Nat, and we’ve been texting and giggling about it ever since. Jaaaaaaaaaaaoooquuuin!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_2195

 What I’ve been reading:

Finally got my hands on Sugar Rush by Johnny Iuzzini (thank YOU First Edition in Freo – support local, independent book sellers), and it’s as good as I hoped. A great book on basics and technique for dessert newbies, with plenty of good ideas for non-newbies to expand on. VERY excited to cook from it, you’ll be seeing some recipes soon!

While I’m not reading it yet, I’m counting down the minutes until I can bury myself in Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman – perhaps I can tell you about it next month?

On a less fun note, this story completely breaks my heart. Anita shows extraordinary strength in the face of the kind of threats that would have most of us unplugging our computers and moving to Antarctica (not because there are fewer idiots there, but because they may be less likely to find her, break into her home and kill her), and I salute her. Parents, make sure you monitor your kids online activity, and raise them to be good people. We need less of this.


 

What I’ve been spending money on:

This bag, which is printed with my favourite life philosophy. I picked mine up from Meg and Wally in West Leedy, which is full of rather delightful things, and smells like HEAVEN.

IMG_2299

Mini Easter eggs. I know, I know, I hate myself too. I feel a violent disdain for supermarkets stocking anything Easter this early… But tiny Easter Eggs are also my favourite. I buy them by the bag full and stuff them into brownies and cookies, or even just leave them in the freezer for when it’s hot. I’m a bad person.

 

Please, fill me in on what happening witchu! How are things?

9 thoughts on “Head & Heart | January

  1. I haven’t had a chance to try your doughnuts yet, but they keep teasing me every time I see a photo 😦 Sounds of it though, I think you’re next step should be setting up an online shop where people can place orders/buy in advance. Door to door delivery? 😀

  2. Yeah, I’m in London with a whole bunch of cool/hip/fresh bites available, but I’m not convinced that things are done better here than home. Especially not with you, a best pal in the know, and frequent distributer of high quality, lettin’ me know what’s what. Miss ya, Cracker! If anyone was gonna make me a sammich, i’d want it to be you 😉

  3. Bri, my tour commitments mean that I’m unable to come down and partake of your doughnut deliciousness. Any chance you could save a few for a fella to come by and pick up in the arvo? I’ll be your best friend (puppy dog eye emoji)

  4. Your doughnuts make me droooool everytime I see them. You should definitely start exporting them to Canberra! Sounds like you’ve had a couple of rough months but I’m sure You’ll make tahe most of 2015! Xxx

  5. Oh gosh, Bri, YOU’RE IN PERTH! Good, when I finally plan my Perth trip (fingers crossed this year!) I will make sure that it’s a day that you’re selling doughnuts (Saturday is it?) 😀

    And hey, totally get your sentiments about making more time to just chillax but yet at the same time, having our eyes on the ball and going all out for all our passions and commitments. 9-5 I get ya, I’m the same and I’m trying to grow Lime Tree Bower, plus the blog.. plus all the planning and everything that goes hand in hand with all the above. Gosh, when I was reading that part of your post, it felt like you were describing me (but replace donuts with flowers) HAHAH 🙂 WE CAN DO IT!

    X

  6. I love donuts and popcorn, so how amazing would donuts topped with chocolate popcorn be? I totally understand the thing about being happy to see a friend, but sad at the same time as her plans didn’t work out. This happened to me twice, both times with my sister who’s plans to work in the UK some years ago didn’t work out and then again last year when her plans to study in the USA didn’t work out. Whilst it’s sad for them, it’s great for us, but great for them that they have good support to come home to.

  7. rachiperera says:

    I drool over your Instagram pics of your doughnuts every weekend! You living in the other side of the country is just very inconvenient!

    I’m totally with you on the new year and clean slate stuff. 2015: best year yet, right? xx

Leave a Reply

