Good Mornings | Coconut + Almond Granola

I’ve perfected just how long I can stay in bed and still be not-unreasonably late to work. As you can imagine, breakfast does not fit into that equation. That’s valuable sleeping time! Instead, I eat breakfast at my desk around 9:30, when I’m semi-awake and finally hungry.

stranger-things-coffee-and-contemplation-08262016

This granola comes to work with me in its own little Ziploc bag, with a piece of whatever fruit is going in my house. It’s tasty enough on its own but lends beautifully to whatever flavours you like. Add extra nuts, different dried fruits, change up the spices. It’s one of those recipes with ‘good bones’; it won’t fall to pieces if you’ve run out of something or want to change it up.

You know how I feel about repeating recipes. I rarely do it. But this, this is a staple in my pantry, and I’m still not sick of it. If that’s not a glowing recommendation, I don’t know what is.

 

Coconut + Almond Granola

From A Lot on Her Plate by Rosie Birkett

350g traditional oats
1 tsp chia seeds
80g pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
15g sunflower seeds
150g flaked almonds
50g desiccated coconut
1 1/2 tsps each of ground cinnamon, ground ginger, and ground nutmeg
4 tbsp coconut oil
4 tbsp maple syrup
60g sultanas

Heat your oven to 180*C. Line a baking tray (something long and shallow, rather than a roasting dish) with baking paper.

Combine the oats, seeds, almond and spices in a large mixing bowl. If the coconut oil is cold or solid, melt gently in a small saucepan with the maple syrup, then pour over the oat mix and stir until well incorporated.

img_6162

Spread the mixture in an even layer in the baking tray. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so until toasty and golden. Leave to cool completely, then add the sultanas. Keeps beautifully in an air-tight container for 4 weeks.

I like mine with cocoa nibs, Greek yoghurt, sliced fruits and a little bit of honey. Or poached pears! Or roasted strawberries. Yeeeeees, the roasted strawberries are amazing. Do that.



One thought on “Good Mornings | Coconut + Almond Granola

  1. OH YES. A good granola recipe is worth its weight in gold. This one looks glorious, I love your addition of cacao nibs for both crunch and bitterness against the plump dried fruit and maple syrup. Deliciousness indeed xx

Leave a Reply

