Where I’m at | February 2017

And just like that, it’s February.

We’re on the other side of that crazy holiday season, and settling into the year. The new year is like new shoes, finding the places where it pinches or rubs, and you kind of stretch around to make it as comfortable as you can.

Let’s get into the things I’m thinking about this month, yeah?

The Perth Writers Festival kicks off at the end of the month, and I was lucky enough to interview Clementine Ford for Broadsheet Perth. You can read it here. I’ve got tickets to at least five events, and I can. not. wait.

I want to eat at The Hummus Club, every day, always. It’s crazy good.

save-new-4

I finally caved and bought a Swell bottle on one of my too-frequent visits to La Luna, and now I’m just mad that I resisted for so long. It keeps water cold all day long, and just looks really cool.

We all know New Year’s resolutions aren’t really a thing that makes it past the 15th January. Andjelka wrote a beautiful post about setting a word to live by for the year. I think that works a hell of a lot better. Mine is care.  Self-care is taking a higher priority this year. I promise to care for those I love. And given the clusterfuck that is the current political climate, I’m going to care enough to stand up and fight for what’s right in this world.

img_7561

I swore never again… But I’m a little bit in love with cupcakes. I’m obsessed with The Scran line, who does things I can only dream of. I also can’t stop thinking about/craving Sugar and Nice‘s chocolate cupcakes. I’ll take a dozen, pleaseandthankyou.

img_7784

Have you ever wanted to know how to make those perfectly glossy mirror glazes you see on fancy Zumbo cakes? I did. So I went to Sydney to learn from the best at the Australian Patisserie Academy. They run short courses on macarons, beginner basics, pastry… Just about everything. I took the intermediate modern tarts and eclairs class, and it was 100 percent worth it. I’d go back in a second. The APH will also have an online store up and running by the end of the month, for all your isomalt and other weird ingredient needs.

img_7734

Speaking of sweets, Yotam Ottolenghi’s New York Times baking column is going to be a fast favourite, I can tell.

I love this list of 26 things every person should do for themselves at least once a year. I’m working through the stack of unread books, purging what is unnecessary in my home and plotting that new city exploration.

Speaking of new-city exploration, I’m looking forward to doing that very thing in Sri Lanka! My gorgeous friend Rachi runs The Paradise Guide, and I couldn’t resist a week of yoga, paddle boarding and, well, lying about in the sunshine.

I can’t get enough yoga.  I love vinyasa classes at COMO Shambala Urban Escape with Steph Johnson, who is an amazing teacher. Whether you’ve been practising for years, or you’ve never set foot on the mat before – she’s got you. I ‘m also crazy for Yoga with Adriene, which is my daily practice at home. Adriene’s 31 day Yoga Revolution was a beautiful way to kick off January, building strength and flexibility (until I overestimated my Crow Pose ability and fell on my face – literally).

img_7785

 

Please tell me what you’re up to – what you’re reading, listening to, excited for!

Leave a Reply

