Attention please: Perth is amazing. That is all.

I like to think I’m a relatively easy going person. Little ruffles me. C’est la vie, water off a duck’s back, all of that crap.

There are, however, particular things that frustrate me:

  • People who have their collars half up, half down
  • Slow walkers who seem to take up the whole damn footpath
  • Those who line up in cafes forever, then aren’t ready when it’s their turn
  • Ejjits who can’t merge on the freeway. It’s not rocket science!
  • Those who whinge that Perth is ‘Dullsville’, backwards and boring, but don’t participate in the awesome stuff going on.

Please excuse me while I get on my soapbox.

This beautiful little city is never going to be Melbourne. Melbourne is never going to be Sydney, who’s never going to be London, who’s never going to be New York. Let it go.
What you need to do, is embrace the good things we do have. And there are many many many good things. A place can only be what you make it, and those who are working so very hard to make it spectacular… They need your help.
So go. Get out. See live music, try new restaurants, check out exhibits at your local gallery or museum.
Go! Do! See! Taste! Experience!

So, ladies and gentlemen, get out your diaries, because I’m about to tell you. Huzzah!

First off, today is the launch of Eat Drink Perth, a food festival showing off some of the best Perth has to offer. There’s something for everyone! There are degustations (many small courses, pretty fancy stuff) at some of our top restaurants. High teas, picnics, markets, fairs…
There’s so much on, and I leave it to my lovely friend Jax from Where The Wind Blows Her, she has broken it down in brilliant style.
I am attending the Taste of Spain degustation, Yum Cha in the Park and high tea. This event has also presented me with my greatest dream in life. Dessert degustation. Many courses of dessert. That’s all. I can die a happy little dessertress.
I know I’ve said it before, but I can’t recommend enough that you check out the Twilight Hawkers Markets on Friday nights in Forrest Chase.

Perth’s own Upmarket is THIS WEEKEND! It’s like Etsy, but real. Go, meet the people who make all the lovely things. It’s a great way to spend a morning. It’s on the 4th of March, at Winthrop Hall, UWA.

March 10 & 11 is the Araluen’s Fremantle Chilli festival, held at Esplanade Park in Freo. It’s really simple. Chilli. Lots of it.
Though, there’s also beer, chocolate, produce and other tasty things. Plus, you’ll be in Freo, if it’s too much for you, head over to Creatures for a pint. Everyone wins!

The William Street Festival is held on March 18. In all its street-filled chaos glory, there’s live music, stalls, snacks and fun for the whole family. You can’t say no to that!

The hugely popular Sculpture by the Sea is back at Cottesloe beach until the 19th of March, which is always worth a visit.

Foto Freo is showcasing works from some of the most talented photographers from Australia and around the world, starting on March 17.

Claremont Quarter is bringing the Taste of Asia to its square, with stalls, food and so many activities; every Thursday in March.

From the team who brought you the incredible Fringe World, comes Rooftop Movies. An awesome line up of films, you have to go at least once.

There’s cricket, if you’re so inclined. Hey, may as well enjoy the last of this perfect summer, right?

My good friends at Fat Shan’s are celebrating their first birthday. These guys work hard to promote amazing local musos, and you should really come to The Bakery on March 24 and buy them a beer. Festivus for the rest of us!

If you are not sound of mind, or enjoy watching people torture themselves, the 2012 Nissan Corporate Triathalon series hits our lovely shores on March 11. Sit on the sidelines and eat KFC, that’s my plan.

The awesome team at KULCHA are putting on Oz Concert; a celebration of our country’s spectacular diversity, which is definitely something worth celebrating.

March 17 is Australia’s favourite adopted holiday – St Patrick’s Day. An excuse to drink too much, wear green and smooch the Irish. All in all, a great day, I believe. Head down to your local, or Northbridge always puts on a big night. Don’t drink and drive.

Scitech is hosting Innovation Festival. I really don’t see why anyone needs a reason to go to Scitech (I love the place, and still go regularly), but this event is definitely worth a visit. Talk to the people who make awesome things!

Also on March 31st, is An Evening on the Green at Kings Park – The Oz Rock edition. Noiseworks, Ian Moss, Richard Clapton, Choirboys, Dragon and 1927. Possibly the best drunken singalong night ever, certainly one for the ages.

But look, these events are just this month. And it’s not even all of them! Sign up for newsletters, ‘like’ stuff on Facebook, get involved.
I love and subscribe to the gorgeous girls at We Love Perth, the team at Show Me Perth and OnWilliam. That way, well, maybe the event you’ve been waiting for may just fall in your lap after all…

This high horse was a little taller than I imagined, can someone please help me down?

What event are you looking forward to? Have I missed anything? Please let me know!

10 thoughts on “Attention please: Perth is amazing. That is all.

  1. Liv B says:

    Ohmygoodness there is SO much on! Perth is actually amazing & everything you’ve said is why. I can’t wait to check out all the cool things. I’ve never been to Yum Cha so I’m looking forward to that, and the Chilli Festival and movies on the rooftop (although I hear some are selling out, which is a good sign but… Boo), the William St Festival, (it’s my favourite street in Perth) and Sculptures by the sea is always a good excuse to get to the beach. Happy Perth Month!

  2. LOVE PERTH!
    with more and more bars opening (the Trustee/The Precinct/Frisk/The Classroom) and Fringe Festival, followed by PIAF and Eat Drink Perth with lots of highlights it showcases all the food/drink/arts and vibrancy that people dont think exists.
    Bring on Yum Cha in the Park

    Oh and Rochelle Adonis Dessert Dego for after Eat Drink Perth have been around for awhile now and she is spectacular!

  3. Awesome post!! Ill be referring to this many times in the next month for sure!
    Were going to the Spanish dego at Amphoras, Yum Cha in the Park, The Cheeky Sparrow dego, the chilli festival (bf cannot wait!) and… I dunno what else! ARGH! Busy busy march!!

  4. sarah B says:

    Excellent post, and i could not agree more with what you said about perth , im looking forward the william st and then the chilli festival , and rooftops films and lots more of the eat drink perth month .. but a special thanks for the heads up about the sculptures at the sea dates as i missed this last year. and didnt know about foto freo , so i will be definatly checking then out .. thankyou again ,and i hope you have an amazing perthian weekend..xsarah

  5. I’m originally from Melbourne, have lived all up the east coast, and for the last year and a half have been living in Perth. I’ve just got to say I love Perth!

    The grass isn’t always greener on the other side when it comes to comparing Perth to Melbourne. Perth really does offer so much!

    Thanks for the blog suggestions, I will definitely be checking them out in the future.

    Cassandra

  6. I’m originally from Brazil and I will try to change anyone’s mind that Perth is amazing! Perth only lacks on sharing of information, which is getting better and better with more blogs and websites promoting this great city! Great post!

Leave a comment